Change…

So much change has changed in my life over the last 3 1/2 years.  Especially in the last year.  I’ve had some really awesome things happen to me, although it’s not been an easy process.  Growth is often times a painful process.  A good friend called me on something today, lol.  I HAVE to laugh about it, even though it’s serious because I probably wouldn’t have listened to anyone about it EXCEPT for this person.  I’m sure the Lord put this person in my life to help me along this path because I prefer to learn the hard way by doing it MY way, not His way.  (I must prefer it, because that’s how I do it)  This person I do listen to.  Darnitall.  So here’s an area (one of a million) that I still need to work on:  Contrary to this blog which has so far been serious and not at all funny… I’m a funny person.  I have a great sense of humor and keep people laughing all.the.time. … So this week, Weinergate broke.  The U.S. Representative Anthony Weiner accidentally posted a picture of his “junk” on Twitter.  And mind you, a lot of what I joke about are current events in the media!  And here is this guy named Weiner that posted a pic of his weiner!!!  Every news channel is talking about Weiner, and every time I hear his name I am crying tears of laughter!!!  What are the chances that a guy named Weiner would get caught up in the news about his weiner?!  The temptation was too great and so the weiner jokes were flying…  And they were funny!!!  And they were on my Facebook.  That my kids see.  And several Pastors from my church.  And my mother.  And my nieces and nephews.  And over 1500 other people.  Was it funny?  YES!!!  Was it appropriate to post on my Facebook for the world to see?  NO!!!  Ummm… so yeah… here I am.  A work in progress.  The Lord is still molding me and changing me into what he wants me to be.  I step out of line, and get pushed right back where I need to be, lol.  Ouch!  My entire life I have been a cusser.  My older brother taught me to say “stupid ass” when I was 3 years old, and try as she might, my mother could never break me of that word.  She even washed my mouth out with soap.  Nothing worked.  As I got older, my vocabulary increased as did my derogatory list of adjectives I used on a daily basis.  I probably dropped the F bomb about 30 times a day in casual conversation.  I tried to quit cussing because it’s such an ugly habit, but I couldn’t stop myself.  March 23rd 2008 I was saved and became a born again Christian.  I’ll never forget that very next day the first time I dropped an F bomb…  I stopped mid-sentence… I could not believe I just heard myself say that!  (See?  Sometimes I catch myself and don’t need someone to remind me!)  I made up my mind that THIS time, I would really stop saying those words.  And I did.  It is still a constant battle 3 1/2 years later because when I’m really mad, sometimes I let those words slip out.  I hate that, but I keep trying and I stop swearing all over again.  Here’s the great thing.  I KNOW for a fact that God loves me.  As a Christian I strive to be Christ-like.  Every day.  Before I even get up in the morning, I know that God knows I will fall short today.  I do every day.  No one is perfect, we ALL fall short every day.  But at the end of the day, I know that despite the fact that I fell short of my Christ-like goal… God still loves me the same.  Every day.  He loves me.  Knowing that I will fall short doesn’t give me the right to wake up and say “well, I know I’m going to mess something up today, so I may as well make it a good one” and proceed to make huge bad choices all day long.  But being a Christian has made me conscious of the choices I face all day long, and has made my choices much better then they were in the past.  But they aren’t all the right choices.  So I deleted the weiner post, as it wasn’t one of my better choices.  Day by day, bit by bit, I’m changing.

About realtybypaula

Full time Realtor, part time goof...
This entry was posted in Life Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

